June’s Diary

JD_Photo color for CLewis Group[2][1][1]

June’s Diary is an all-female contemporary R&B vocal group who formed on “Chasing Destiny”, BET’s hit 2016 docu-series helmed by Destiny’s Child alumna Kelly Rowland and director/choreographer Frank Gatson to form the next hit girl group. The dynamic quintet consists of vocalists Ashly Williams, Gabby Carrierio, Shyann Roberts, Brienna DeVlugt, Kristal Smith.

Hand-selected from a pool of 1000 performers from across the U.S., the group was formed on June 7, 2016 during “Chasing Destiny’s” series finale, releasing their first promotional single “All of Us” on iTunes the same night. The track hit No. 2 on iTunes’ R&B chart, becoming the groups first charting single and reaffirming the loyal following gathered from the show and the quintets hit-making potential. The following release “It’s Alright” and their viral cover of Drake’s “Hotline Bling” kept fans eager for more.

June’s Diary signed to Epic Records shortly afterwards. On June 23, 2016 they announced their official group name as June’s Diary – an ode to the quintet’s official birth month and its journey to telling each member’s story, page by page, as one cohesive voice. On June 24, 2016, June’s Diary released a second promotional single “L.A.N.C.E” on iTunes before releasing the video during the 2016 BET Awards Pre-Show.

June’s Diary’s released its debut mixtape Male Edition on June 30, 2017 – a nostalgic set featuring covers of iconic male musical groups such as The Beatles, Jodeci and others. That weekend, the quintet debuted its first full-choreographed show live at the 2017 Essence Festival in New Orleans. The acclaimed performance embodied the revival of the luring qualities of hit R&B groups from the pre-millennium decade, proving once and for all that contemporary R&B lives on.

In October, the quintet joined ‘The Great Xscape Tour’, opening for the reunited R&B veterans, alongside Monica and Tamar Braxton, fast establishing themselves as a magnetic must-see on the touring circuit.